

METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.778.6700 www.mtc.ca.gov

Jake Mackenzie, Chair Sonoma County and Cities

Scott Haggerty, Vice Chair Alameda County

> Alicia C. Aguirre Cities of San Mateo County

Tom Azumbrado U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Jeannie Bruins Cities of Santa Clara County

> Damon Connolly Marin County and Cities

> > Dave Cortese Santa Clara County

Chair

Carol Dutra-Vernaci Cities of Alameda County

**Dorene M. Giacopini** U.S. Department of Transportation

> Federal D. Glover Contra Costa County

Anne W. Halsted San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Nick Josefowitz San Francisco Mayor's Appointee

Jane Kim City and County of San Francisco

> Sam Liccardo San Jose Mayor's Appointee

Alfredo Pedroza Napa County and Cities

Julie Pierce Association of Bay Area Governments

> Libby Schaaf Oakland Mayor's Appointee

> > Warren Slocum San Mateo County

James P. Spering Solano County and Cities

*Tony Tavares* California State Transportation Agency

Amy R. Worth Cities of Contra Costa County

> Steve Heminger Executive Director

Alix Bockelman Deputy Executive Director, Policy

Andrew B. Fremier Deputy Executive Director, Operations

> Brad Paul Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services

September 25, 2018

Via U.S. Mail

The Honorable Pete Sanchez

City Selection Committee for the County of Solano c/o Jeannette Neiger 675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533

Dear Chair Sanchez:

Pursuant to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission's (MTC) enabling legislation, all Commissioners are appointed to concurrent four-year terms. The current term of your representative on MTC, the Honorable James P. Spering, expires on February 9, 2019. I have been asked by the Commission to request that the City Selection Committee for the County of Solano begin consideration of the nomination of Mr. Spering for reappointment, and to furnish the Solano County Board of Supervisors with the names of nominees from which the Board shall appoint a representative to serve a four-year term that commences on February 10, 2019.

Enclosed for your information is a copy of MTC's enabling legislation. MTC Commission members may be elected or appointed officials, or members of the general public. Pursuant to Government Code Section 66504: "Commissioners shall be selected for their special familiarity with the problems and issues in the field of transportation."

MTC Commissioners should expect to serve on one or more of the Commission's standing, special or advisory committees. Usually, the Commission and each committee meet once a month in San Francisco. From time to time, the Commission may conduct public hearings in the MTC region, which MTC Commissioners may be requested to attend. A \$100 per diem (up to a maximum of \$500 per month), plus Commission-authorized travel expenses, are paid to members for attendance at meetings of their committees, the Commission, and public hearings held by the Commission.

The Honorable Pete Sanchez September 25, 2018 Page 2

Should you wish additional information concerning the Commission or the responsibilities of its members, please feel free to contact me. The Commission would appreciate being notified of the reappointment or appointment of a representative as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Secretary to the Commission

RL:rc

Enclosure (1)

cc: The Hon. John M. Vazquez, Chair, Solano County Board of Supervisors (no enclosure) Jeanette Neiger, Clerk of the Board, Solano County Board of Supervisors (no enclosure) Commissioner James P. Spering (no enclosure)

J:\SECTION\EXEC\COUNSEL\Commissioners\Commissioner Appointments\2019 Commissioner Appointments\L\_Solano City Selection\_Spering 2019.docx